Pregnancy Awareness Month!

1 May
photo from Alice Yoo's camera

Ibañez sisters (Ardith Nishii + Arlene Yoo) and Kim sisters (Grace Linker + Alice Yoo) out celebrating Pregnancy Awareness Month! (photo courtesy of Alice Yoo)

(NO!  I’m not pregnant, but I HOPE to be pregnant again in the next couple of years AND I’m not-so-secretly hoping that my sister will get pregnant soon!  Cedro needs a cousin!)  Enjoyed an eventful sunny day today with Baby C, my sis, Alice + Grace at the kick-off for Pregnancy Awareness Month at Bergamot Station not far from our place.

Got there 30 minutes early to score a gift bag among the first 200 attendees and found about 100 people already there ahead of us!  It was definitely worth the wait.  Cedro chatted it up with the other kids in line and the gift bag was ENORMOUS.  Haven’t finishing going through all the loot, but items included Belli skincare samples and a 9oz. BornFree® bottle.  Almost each booth had giveaways.  I snatched a mOmma teether for Cedro.  He is very picky about what he uses as a teether and he seemed to like this one instantly.  (See photos.)

© Photos by Ardith Ibañez Nishii

Cedro loves his new "Jack" teether by mOmma!

For the past week, I have been debating over when to start Cedro on Cheerio-like cereal now that he has a couple teeth coming in at the top.  He has only had pureed food or very soft food like tofu or frozen whole wheat bagels.  Luckily, there was a Plum Organics booth and Cedro was able to try their organic Super Puffs which dissolve much faster than the hard cereal.  He seemed to enjoy them after getting over the initial flavor and/or texture of the snack.  I will definitely make use of their coupon and pick some up the next time I’m at the store.  Cedro handled the puffs so well that I got over my initial fear and let him play with some Trader Joe’s O’s cereal as a fun finger food.  I think it’s safe to say that not only can he handle it, but he enjoys it!  (See photo.)

© Photo by Ardith Ibañez Nishii

Joe's O's cereal makes Cedro happy!

Wish we had had the energy to stay longer but it was so packed!  It was a little too claustrophobic for me and I was wishing they had chosen a larger venue.  Nevertheless, I enjoyed all the baby/kiddie energy!  (I had to leave early anyway to pick up Brian from the airport.)  I passed by all the booths and signed up for as many giveaways as possible (like the true Filipino mama that I am)!  There were so many other things to do and see.  There was a GreenBliss EcoSpa where you could get massages or manicures with non-toxic nail polish.  There was a maternity fashion show… Oh well, next year!

On our way out, I met Dr. Harvey Karp.  (While I was pregnant, our good buddies, Rena and Damon, loaned us his book, The Happiest Baby on the Block, and it was helpful.)  Now that Cedro is days away from turning 9 months old, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to buy The Happiest Toddler on the Block DVD.  Dr. Karp seemed like a sweet and sincere guy.  I’ve seen his videos before and felt like the DVD would be useful.  Don’t get me wrong.  Cedro is by no means a problem baby, but as a first-time parent, I feel like anything can help!

As a stay-at-home mom, I find myself obsessed with finding the right gear for both Cedro and myself.  There are so many gadgets and programs these days.  The selection is a bit overwhelming.  It’s great to have something like Pregnancy Awareness Month where you can attend something like this kick-off event to sample, touch, feel and even taste products to help you make informed decisions about future purchases.  I was definitely impressed by all the offerings.  I will definitely attend again next year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

